41 1/2 Second Avenue

The Cemetery is open at least once a month, April through October.

 There is no shelter, so if the weather is unpleasant, please take a raincheck until the next month.  

Owners, neighbors, and researchers are all welcome.

 Walking tours and other large groups must make arrangements in advance.   

Schedule for 2018

Please mark your calendars for the Open Gate Days this next season

Generally they will be Sunday, 12noon-4pm, unless otherwise noted.


Sunday, April 1 - Easter
Sunday, April 22 - Earth Day
Saturday, May 5 
Sunday, May 6 - Owners Meeting (1-4 pm)
Sunday, May 27
Sunday, June 24
Sunday, July 22
Sunday, August 19
Sunday, September 23
Saturday, October 13 - Open House New York (10-6 pm)
Sunday, October 14 - Open House New York (10-6 pm)


For descendants who will be in town at other times, please let us know ahead so that we can make arrangements.  Contact  For a special visit, please consider a donation.

The Cemetery is available for rental for appropriate events, which are considered on a case-by-case basis.  Contact

The Cemetery is in the East Village, just east of Greenwich Village and north of the Lower East Side.  Find parking on the side streets or at the Central Parking Garage, 11 East 1st Street.  The closest subway stops are the F and V trains at Lower East Side / Second Avenue and the # 6 train at Bleecker & Lafayette.  The Cemetery's gate is on Second Avenue, back at the building line - don't walk past!   Our next-door neighbor, Provenzano-Lanza, 43 Second Avenue, has a prominent tan awning over its sidewalk.  Please look for that.

Please bear in mind that the Cemetery's entrance is on Second Avenue, not on East 2nd Street.